top of page

Haworth & Bronte country

  • Visitor Attractions & Days Out in Haworth

  • Whats on in Haworth

  • Things to See & Do in Haworth

  • Where to stay in Haworth

  • Eating - Drinking in Haworth

  • Shopping in Haworth

  • Haworth outdoors

  • Haworth Heritage

  • Haworth Culture

  • Haworth Picture Gallery

  • Bronte Birthplace

  • KWVR

Bronte moors 

Brontë Country are locations associated with the three Brontë sisters, Charlotte, Anne and Emily. They're centred on the small town of Haworth in West Yorkshire, but cover a broad stretch of country.

Geographically, Bronte Country consists of the Pennine hills immediately to the west of, but also including, the Bradford / Leeds conurbation of West Yorkshire, as well as Kirklees and Calderdale.

This is the land of the Bronte novels, in which landscape and characters often seem interchangeable. Emily Bronte 's gritty description of Heathcliff, the doomed hero of her "Wuthering Heights," is intentionally symbolic of the Pennine Hills and moors There is no doubt that the Brontës’ writings are imbued with the spirit of the moors around Haworth.


The moors begin where the cultivated land ends. Moors dotted with sheep, seem to go on forever. Heather and bracken stretch all around, open and endless, and black stone-built villages huddle on hilltops and in the crest-like valleys that slice into this ancient land. Everywhere is the dry stone walling — assembled by hand with no mortar — that has lasted for centuries and defines field boundaries and ownership. 


Bronte Walks around Haworth

Tread in the footsteps of the Bronte sisters across rocky paths and wind-scoured grasses.

You can download the leaflets as Adobe PDF files and use them on your mobile phone or print them out to take with you on your trip.

Cycling around Haworth

Explore the landscape that inspired the Brontë sisters

bottom of page